Commission on Disability


The Commission on Disability advises the Mayor, City Council, department directors, and other boards and commissions on issues pertaining to the disability community in the City of Alameda.  The Commission addresses a broad range of issues affecting the lives of people with disabilities and advises city officials on actions they can take to achieve an environment in which people with disabilities have equal access to programs, housing, facilities and services.  To support the integration and participation of persons with disabilities, the Commission works to foster attitudes and promote behaviors that respect and value people with disabilities throughout the community.


ADA Requirements

To find out more regarding the requirements under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), please see the official website.


Emergency Preparedness

For information on emergency preparedness for individuals with disabilities and others with access and functional needs, please click on the link to access the webcast training "Feeling Safe, Being Safe" offered by the  California Department of Social Services (CDSS). 


Regular Meeting Schedule

This commission meets every other month at 6:30 pm at City Hall in Council Chambers.  (No meetings in Council Chambers in August)  Please check City Calendar for dates and meeting agendas.  For 2018, the scheduled meeting dates will be:

  • Feb 14
  • Retreat - February 3, 10 AM - 2 PM, Mastick Senior Center
  • April 11
  • May 9
  • July 11
  • September 12
  • November 28

How to Become a Commissioner
To apply, download and complete an application form and submit it to the City Clerk's office. Additional information on the application and appointment process is available here.



To forward information to Commissioners, please email, or call Laurie Kozisek, City Staff Liaison, at (510) 747-7930.


Commission's Listserv:

If you would like to receive occasional emails about items of interest to the disability community in Alameda, send your email request to


Commission Chair


Elizabeth Kenny


Commission Vice Chair


Jenn Barrett


MembersFirst AppointmentCurrent Term Expires
Anto Aghapekian November, 2015June, 2021
Jenn BarrettJuly, 2017June, 2021
Arnold BrillingerSeptember, 2015June, 2019
Susan T. DeutschNovember, 2010June, 2019
Lisa HallSeptember, 2016June, 2021
Elizabeth KennyJuly, 2014June, 2022
Jenny LintonNovember, 2015June, 2019
Jennifer RoloffJanuary, 2018June, 2021
Leslie Morrison June, 2018June, 2022